S-V-A-C 2022-2023 Season

Upcoming meetings:

Thursday, December 1 – Dr. Bob Harmison, Director of Sport Psychology at JMU will speak on the topic of mental health in collegiate athletes. 


February 21 – Kevin Warner, Assistant AD for Communications and Geoff Polglase, Deputy Director of Athletics will give a behind-the-scenes look at the implications of changing conferences.

New members are always welcome & encouraged. 

Interest in athletics is the only requirement


Pay Online Dues and Dinner Fees Click Here
Or, pay at  PO Box 738, Harrisonburg, VA. 22803-0738

  • Dinner is $21 for members in advance (+1 fee if online) and $24 at the door for members and for guests.
  • Dues for a couple are $70 (+$3 fee if online)
  • Dues for an individual are $40 (+$2 fee if online)

    or download these forms, print and mail with your check
    SVAC Mail-in Membership form

 Join us for our next meeting with a new edition of Who Am I, and our 50-50 Raffle will be back with a great cash prize.  

Program  :  

5:45 pm Reception/Social (Cash Bar Available)
6:30 pm Welcome
Pledge of Allegiance
“Who Am I” segment to get to know our members
6:45 pm Buffet Dinner
7:35 pm Introduction of Tonight’s Speaker(s)
7:45pm Featured Speaker(s)
8:15pm Questions from membership
8:30 pm Adjournment

Location remains at Early Katering 2061 Evelyn Byrd Ave, Harrisonburg
(The Terrace At Rocktown)|

The SVAC brings people together from throughout the Shenandoah Valley who share a common interest in scholastic, intercollegiate, and professional sports. Dinner meetings are held each month with the date varying depending on the availability of the guest speaker for the month.

Pictures from Frank Beamer’s visit – November 15, 2017

Lexie (BC), Endia (MBU), and Lauren (JMU) at the October 2021 SVAC meeting.

The Shenandoah Valley Athletic Club recognizes the lifetime athletic achievements of its members by inductions to the SVAC Honor Roll.  We have honored 30 members onto the Honor Roll since the Club’s inception in 2002, paying tribute to our local sports heroes.



Honor Roll Plaque

While there is no restriction,
the membership will generally
induct two members annually.

Nominations will be reviewed by the
Executive Committee for a final decision.

Jim Ellis (right) inducted into the SVAC Honor Roll at the October meeting by another BC Hall of Fame member, Jim Upperman


                                                                        SVAC Presidents

From left to right:  Past presidents Allen Andrick, Chip McIntyre, charter president Jim Benson, Bob Colbert and Chick Crawford. Not present Dave King and Brad Chewning

Presenting the 2022-2023 Board of Directors

SVAC Officers for 2022 – 2024:
President:           Dave King
Vice-President:  Kathy Armentrout
Secretary:           Margee Greenfield
SVAC Directors for 2022 – 2024:
Curt Dudley
Bill Ingram
Johnny Garber
Les Helmuth
SVAC Directors for 2022 – 2023:
Jean Willi
Wade Robinson
Earl Cox
John Mauzy

Jim Benson (Charter) 2002-2004
Bob Colbert 2004-2006
Chip McIntyre 2006-2008
Brad Chewning 2008-2010
Chick Crawford 2010-2012
David King 2012-2014
Allen Andrick 2014-2017
Steve Smith 2017-2019
Phil Updike 2019-2022